Greek Mythology: The Gods, Goddesses, and Heroes Handbook: From Aphrodite to Zeus, a Profile of Who's Who in Greek Mythology (Hardcover)

Greek Mythology: The Gods, Goddesses, and Heroes Handbook: From Aphrodite to Zeus, a Profile of Who's Who in Greek Mythology Cover Image
By Liv Albert, Sara Richard (Illustrator)
Sorry, Not Available through UPB
Sorry, Currently Unavailable

Description


Finally sort out who’s who in Greek mythology—from gods, goddesses, heroes, monsters, and everyone in between!

Greek mythology continues to appear in popular movies and books today but have you ever wondered about where these characters started out? Discover the origins of your favorite characters from Greek mythology with this collection of profiles to tell you who’s who in classical lore!

In Greek Mythology, you will discover the backstories of the heroes, villains, gods, and goddesses that enjoy popularity in today’s shows and films. With comprehensive entries that outline each character’s name, roles, related symbols, and foundational myths, you can get to know the roots of these personas and better understand the stories they inspire today. With this character-focused, handy reference, you will never be confused about Ancient Greece!

About the Author


Liv Albert has a degree in Classical Civilizations and English Literature from Concordia University in Montreal. Liv is the creator, host, and producer of the popular Greek and Roman mythology podcast, Let’s Talk About Myths, Baby! where she brings her modern perspective and her education in Classical Civilizations together to explore Greek myths from a casual, humorous perspective. Her podcast is highly rated, ranked in the top 10–50 Apple Podcasts in the US, Canada, and UK, and has found its way onto Spotify curated lists like “Learn Something New,” and “Podcasts That Will Make You Smarter.”

Sara Richard is an Eisner and Ringo Award–nominated artist from New Hampshire. She has worked in the comic book industry for eight years, mainly as a cover artist. Before that, she was a toy sculptor at Hasbro, specializing in making tiny dinosaurs. Sara’s inspiration comes from Art Deco, Art Nouveau, 1980s fashion, and Victorian-era design. When not making art or writing, she’s watching horror movies, cleaning forgotten gravestones, and collecting possibly haunted curios from the nineteenth century. Her online gallery can be found at SaraRichard.com.

Praise For…


“Albert gives a witty and unapologetic perspective on famous classical stories through a modern, feminist lens.”

—Rachel Smythe, creator of the Lore Olympus Webtoon

“This is not your grandma’s mythology primer. Liv Albert continues her work to bring Greek mythology into modern times with this refreshing, forward-thinking, and best of all, hilarious almanac. Paired with the stunning artwork by Sara Richard, the book feels like an heirloom created for our generation to pass down.”

—Emily Edwards, author and host of the Fuckbois of Literature podcast

“Beautifully illustrated and instantly absorbing, Greek Mythology: The Gods, Goddesses, and Heroes Handbook tells the familiar stories in a fresh, entertaining way and also delves into more obscure myths, origin stories, and characters—leaving no corner of Greek mythology unexplored.”

—Jenny Williamson, cohost of the Ancient History Fangirl podcast

“Gripping, deftly executed, and beautifully told, Greek Mythology: The Gods, Goddesses, and Heroes Handbook is at once a primer for those new to mythology and a compass for those looking to further explore the stories that still shape our world. Feminist and wise, this is a must-read for fans of Lore Olympus or Percy Jackson.”

—Genn McMenemy, cohost of the Ancient History Fangirl podcast

“I highly recommend reading this book if you want to know all the gossip straight from Mount Olympus. This will be a treasured book for any new or longtime Greek mythology obsessives.”

—Mari Phillips, owner of MYTHSNTiTS, illustrator

“Liv brings her trademark panache to this collection! This handbook is packed with connections between ancient myth and popular culture. It’s a wild ride accompanied by Sara Richard’s gorgeous illustrations, suitable for those who adore mythology and enthusiastic beginners. This book is a treat for anyone who likes their ancient past with a dose of humor. We know that we do!”

—Dr. Rad and Dr. G, cohosts of The Partial Historians podcast

“Brilliant, funny, and exciting….Greek mythology can be complex, and Liv has explained it in a way that is easy to digest, with some beautiful imagery alongside the stories.”

—Jeff Murray, artist

“A stylish new guide book for modern audiences.”

Mental Floss

“A delightfully updated version of many of the most famous Greek myths.”

Memphis Flyer

“There’s a lot of information packed in this impressive book.”

SciFiChick.com

“A great introduction … full of insightful views.”

First Comics News

“A must-have guide to who’s who in Greek myth … the stunning illustrations are exquisite and breathtaking, making this book a beautiful piece of art as well as an excellent source of knowledge and entertainment.”

Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

“A beautifully illustrated and well-written introduction to the wide world of Greek mythology.”

A Universe in Words


Product Details
ISBN: 9781507215494
ISBN-10: 1507215495
Publisher: Adams Media
Publication Date: March 30th, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English

STOREFRONT CLOSED FOR REGULAR BUSINESS

Nevertheless, UPB provides ship-to-home service.

Unless and until we move our on-line fulfillment team to different premises, everything you purchase from us ships from warehouses outside of Berkeley.

Much of what we used to carry on store shelves is available, except for very expensive books, used books, and titles fallen between printings.

Certain limitations apply:

  • Sometimes we may have to split an order because books are stocked at different warehouses.
  • Thus, we may remove items from a multi-book order and ask you to resubmit them on a separate order.
  • Many high demand titles ship fairly quickly. Most other titles travel from back east, adding 2 to 5 days to delivery
  • Although we love you in Canada, Latin America, and else where, U.S. orders only.
  • Certain publishers give us low merchant discounts on certain titles, sometimes no discount at all. To be honest, we've had to raise prices on these, ranging from 5% to 30% above list.

You can also purchase eBooks and audio books through us. Distributed by Hummingbird, they include publications from the major trade publishers. Just access the menu link or the sidebar image above.

We greatly appreciate your support of the store with your book orders. Need a book without our current shopping limitations? We recommend Bookshop. View our recommendations on Bookshop, then search for whatever book you'd like.


Should you have questions, email us via our contact form. Since none of are keeping regular hours, it may take a day to get back with you.

The Cafe Ohlone has closed for the duration of the epidemic. They will probably reopen at a different location when they do.Visit makamham.com/cafeohlone for word on their curated dinner boxes.

Front facade of University Press Books

From 1974, University Press Books has stoked the blaze of well over ten thousand minds on fire, carrying new scholarship published by the great university presses in the English-speaking world.

For more than 45 years, UPB operated out of our address at 2430 Bancroft Way in Berkeley (at present still our mailing address). We're now operating on line and when possible at various pop up locations. Sign up to our mailing list for word on dates and locations of these.,/p>

Order from us. Let well-wrought words churn and burn within.